Saturday was the Autumn Festival in Robinson. It was really a lovely time. The weather was wonderful and I got to spend the day with the Child. It began at 12, and we arrived at 12:30ish. We had to park way back in the middle of nowhere and thank goodness there was a “shuttle” because the thought of trudging up that hill? No thank you. The “shuttle” was a golf cart, so it was taking 4-5 people at a time, but luckily we were at the front of the line.

They dropped us off in the middle of vendor heaven. I got the Child a ride all day pass for $10. I originally told the Child that she had to follow me around for at least 10 minutes while I hit the vendors I wanted to see early (Hi Macaroni Kid!), and then she should ride to her little hearts content.

She did a good job til she saw the panning for gold vendor. And the stuff a bear vendor. And the pick-a-duck-win-a-prize vendor. And the beach ball tic tac toe vendor. And the free crafts for kids vendor. And the bubble machine vendor. And the ice cream guy. And the ballon animal man. And the corn dog stand. And the slushie vendor, which also turned out to be the toss a ping pong ball into the jar and win a goldfish vendor.

It cost $1 for 10 ping pong balls. I know from experience that the game is hard, so I gave her a 1$. She got 10 ping pong balls. She tossed one right into the jar. And got a fish. Which I then had to carry around for the next 8 hours while she bounced in the bouncy house, climbed the ladder to slide down the bouncy dinosaur, made her way through the bouncy maze, slid down a sinking but bouncy titanic, bounced through an obstacle course and another version of a bouncy slide. We tried to wait in line for the giant hamster balls, but the Child got antsy so she rode the train instead.

The fish and I became great friends. We ate lunch together and spent lots of quality time. I named him Mr. Bubbles but was then promptly informed that his name was Sally. So we compromised and his name is now Mr. Sally Bubbles. Sally Bubbles made it home safely and now lives with the other 5 (FIVE!) fish in the tank

